Client behaviour customization
Availability
This feature is available in Business and Enterprise plans. See the pricing page for details.
Navigate to Settings → General → Client behaviour.


Client configuration Permissions
Options that affect ability to interact with device management for users.
Device management
This option defines if users can create / manage their own devices.

WireGuard configuration
This option disables ability to create native WireGuard configurations for users. This way users can only enroll new devices via Defguard client applications.
Client traffic rules
One of the unique features of Defguard desktop client is the ability for users to choose whether to route only predefined network traffic or all traffic from their device through a connected VPN location.
However, in some cases administrators may want to enforce a specific behaviour - allowing access only to predefined traffic or requiring all traffic to pass through the VPN.

The Client Traffic Policy setting enables administrators to control this behaviour as needed. The available options are:
No limitation - Users can freely choose between routing predefined traffic or all traffic through the VPN.
Disable all traffic - Only predefined traffic is allowed, the "All traffic" option is disabled for users.
Force all traffic - All traffic is routed through the VPN, the "All traffic" option is enforced and cannot be changed by users.
Please note that this option is only client-side enforced, meaning the user may manually modify Wireguard interface to force all traffic to go through the VPN.
Group-based policies
In addition to the global Client traffic policy, you can define traffic rules for selected groups. Groups listed in this section use their own traffic rules instead of the global policy; any group that is not listed uses the global policy.
The available options are the same as for the global policy - No limitations, Disable all traffic and Force all traffic - but they apply only to users in the selected groups. Use the Edit groups button next to an option to choose which groups it applies to.

A group can be assigned to only one option. The Groups page shows the assigned policy in the Traffic policy column, or - when the group follows the global policy.
When a user belongs to several groups with different policies, Disable all traffic wins, then Force all traffic, then No limitations.
Last updated
Was this helpful?